What are the gifts of the Holy Spirit?

QUESTION:What are the gifts of the Holy Spirit?

ANSWER: The seven gifts of the Holy Spirit are enumerated in 11:2-3. These include:

  1. Wisdom - the first and highest gift of the Holy Spirit. This involves the desire to contemplate the things of God.
  2. Understanding - the gift to grasp the truths and essence of our Faith.
  3. Counsel - the gift to judge how best to act in any given situation
  4. Fortitude - the strength to follow through on actions suggested by the gift of Counsel
  5. Knowledge - the ability to judge all things according to the truths of the Catholic Faith
  6. Piety - willingness to serve and worship God
  7. Fear of the Lord - the gift of desiring not to offend God

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Catholic Answers.

Join Our Community!

Enter Your E-mail Address
Enter Your First Name (optional)

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Catholic Newsletter.

Got a Prayer Request?

Click here to submit a prayer request!

[?]Subscribe To This Site
  • follow us in feedly
  • Add to My Yahoo!
  • Add to My MSN
  • Subscribe with Bloglines

Donate to this Site!

Help support Totus Tuus, Maria! Click here to donate.